Posted by: SandreS | September 11, 2015

Paul Walked Alone with God

ListenListen to Today’s Audio Goodie
(Have the Goodie read to you!)

Paul, after all of his years of loving devotion to others, said as he stood before his Roman judgment,

At my first answer no man stood with me, but all men forsook me … (II Timothy 4:16).

To this he quickly adds,

Notwithstanding the Lord stood with me, and strengthened me … (II Timothy 4:17).

This was Paul’s testimony. What he lacked from others, while being “alone,” was more than made up for by his Lord. The Lord was his constant friend and companion.

Paul would say in his last letter, while facing death,

… All they who are in Asia are turned away from me … only Luke is with me … (II Timothy 1:15; 4:11).

Paul was willing to walk alone with God; to forgo earthly fellowship and friendship if need be, to honor and follow Him.

Jesus Christ said of the Pharisees,

For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God (John 12:43).

By contrast we hear Paul say,

… Not as pleasing men, but God … (I Thessalonians 2:4).

… Do I seek to please men? For if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ (Galatians 1:10).

Paul’s loss of earthly support was offset and outweighed by the deep reality of Divine support.

Clyde L.Pilkington, Jr.
Daily Email Goodies

Leave a Reply

Categories

