Posted by: SandreS | May 5, 2015

“I”

ListenListen to Today’s Audio Goodie
(Let Clyde read the Goodie for you!)

Some might be surprised when we consider the frequency of Paul’s usage of the personal pronoun “I.” Depending on the English version consulted, Paul uses the word “I” nearly 700 or upwards of 1200 times; and he uses the personal pronoun “me” on nearly 200 or upwards of 300 occasions.

Christianity sometimes can convey the idea that we have to give up who we are, that we lose our “I”; but the fact is that “I am what I am.” God has made me a person. “I am” a personality. God has made me so. “I” do not lose my personality “in Christ.”

“I” am very much “present” in my life, I am not “missing.” I have not somehow been replaced by Jesus Christ my supposed “Substitute.”

“In Christ” “I” have not vanished. “I” have not gone out of existence. “I” am still very much alive. Christ Jesus is not my replacement. He has identified Himself with me in living union.

“In Christ” I am free from the seemingly independent “I” of Adam, to the unioned “I” with Christ.

I [a son of Adam] am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I [a son of God] live; yet not I [the “I’ of the old creation], but Christ lives in me [the me of the new creation]: and the life [the life of God] which I [the unique person God that has made me to be] now live in the flesh [right now, this very day] I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me (Galatians 2:20).

“In Christ” I am actually now free to be myself, the real me that He alone has made me to be. Thus, Paul could actually freely use the personal pronouns “I” and “me.”

I can do all things through Christ Who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13).

To me to live is Christ (Philippians 1:21).

Clyde L.Pilkington, Jr.
Daily Email Goodies

Leave a Reply

Categories

