Posted by: SandreS | November 14, 2010

All Our Days Were Written in His Book

My days, all of them were written in Your book; the days, they were formed when there was not one of them (Psalm 139:16).

It is comforting to know that God knew me long before I was ever born. It is reassuring to understand that the details of my life on this very day were written in His book before I ever lived them. It is a cause of rest to my heart to know that He has designed the details of my life; that I am not living my life on my own, but that He is God – large and in charge – of all that this day, and every other one, brings forth.

After all He is the God Who is,

… declaring the end from the beginning … and … from ancient times the things that are not yet done (Isaiah 46:9-10).

It is a great relief to recognize that we can’t disappoint Him nor surprise Him as we live out our day. For He alone is the Author of our lives; the Sovereign Scribe Who has masterfully crafted the script of our days upon the pages of His epic work.

We are not self-made: we are God-made. We are “His workmanship,” “His achievement” (Ephesians 2:10), and of course,

Known to God are all His works from the beginning of the ages (Acts 15:18).

We can rejoice today that we are His, and that He is fully in charge of our days.

For in Him we live, and move, and have our being (Acts 17:28).

Little wonder the Psalmist wrote:

I will praise You; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are Your works; and that my soul knows right well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. My days, all of them were written in Your book; the days, they were formed when there was not one of them. How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with You (Psalm 139:14-18).

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
© Daily Email Goodies

Leave a Reply

Categories

