Posted by: SandreS | April 10, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 21

I Am … An Heir

… Heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ … (Romans 8:17).

I am an heir – an “heir of God.” This is who and what Father says that I am.

Father has willed that I be His heir. This is absolutely amazing truth. I could never even have dreamed up such a thing in my wildest imagination. As with all that I have through my union with Christ, if it was not for the record of Scripture itself, I must surely oppose it as pure blasphemy.

Yet it is true. I am an heir of God. Father says that I am.

Giving thanks to the Father, Who has made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light (Colossians 1:12).

The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, and what the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints (Ephesians 1:18).

God Owns It All

The simple truth is that Father owns everything!

For the earth is the Lord’s, and the fullness thereof (I Corinthians 10:26).

The Lord Jesus Christ Is Heir of All

The Lord Jesus Christ has been made the heir of all things that belong to His Father.

… His Son, Whom He has appointed Heir of all things (Hebrews 1:2).

I Am Co-Heir with Christ

By my union with the Son of God I, too, have come into the sonship-inheritance of the Father. I am now positioned as co-heir with Him as a member of His Body.

Wherefore you are no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ (Galatians 4:7).

And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ (Romans 8:7).

Christ’s Body is inheritor of all that God possesses. The Body of Christ is, with the Lord Jesus Christ as its Head, destined to inherit everything that God possesses.

Inheritance on Reservation

I will not take full possession of all of my inheritance until the resurrection. The earth and its fullness are currently sublet to the sons of Adam. The heavens and its fullness are currently sublet to the heavenly host. God and His Christ are now in Royal Exile, “far above all heavens” (Ephesians 4:10); but this will all change one day.

My inheritance is currently reserved for me in heaven (Colossians 1:5). I must not forget as I labor through my days that I am my Father’s son, and thus an heir of all things. Sometimes I live in the circumstances as a defeated son of Adam. However, this is a denial of my true identity, and when I do so I live in falsehood and hypocrisy.

Co-Regents of the Universe

Christ’s Body will one day be the ruling body of the universe.

… We shall also reign with Him … (II Timothy 2:12).

The Greek word used to translate “reign” here is Strong’s Greek Lexicon #4821, sumbasileuo, meaning “to be co-regent.” Webster defines “regent” as “a governor; a ruler … one invested with vicarious authority.”

The Body of Christ will co-reign as co-regents with the Lord Jesus Christ, because the Father has made us one with Him, as our Head. No wonder Paul could write to the Corinthians regarding their earthly, carnal and immature behavior:

Do you not know that the saints shall judge the world? (I Corinthians 6:2).

Know you not that we shall judge angels? (I Corinthians 6:3).

By God’s measureless and matchless grace I have been made a part of the Body of His inheritance. All things are mine (I Corinthians 3:21-23).

I am who and what Father says I am.

I am an heir.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

