Posted by: SandreS | April 8, 2010

I Am … Who And What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 19

I Am … Blessed

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Who has blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ (Ephesians 1:3).

I am blessed. This is who and what Father says I am.

God has blessed me in more ways than I can even completely comprehend. Indeed, in the spiritual realm, He has already fully blessed me beyond measure – “with all spiritual blessings.” In this sphere I could not possibly be more blessed.

This is not to say that I do not have physical blessings, for surly they are abundant, as He “gives us richly all things to enjoy” (I Timothy 6:17); but Paul teaches me that my real sphere of blessings is in the spiritual realm, in the heavenly places.

God blessed Israel with physical blessing, as they were His earthly people. This is not to say that they did not have any spiritual blessings for surely they did, and we are partakers of them (Romans 15:27); but God’s emphasis was upon their physical blessings.

I am a part of God’s heavenly people, and He has blessed me “with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ.” Paul records these spiritual blessings right in his letter to the Ephesians, and they are intended to make me “spiritually minded” (Romans 8:6).

That I have been separated to the celestial sphere can be seen easily by looking at the Ephesian collage of the “heavenly places”:

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Who has blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ … Which He wrought in Christ, when He raised Him from the dead, and set Him at His Own right hand in the heavenly places … And has raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places, in Christ Jesus To the intent that now to the principalities and powers in heavenly places might be known by the church the manifold wisdom of God … For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places (Ephesians 1:3, 20; 2:6; 3:10; 6:12).

My spiritual blessing are directly associated with these “heavenly places.” This is where I have my position and standing in the Lord Jesus Christ. I am seated with Christ in the celestials (Ephesians 2:6); my citizenship is there (Philippians 3:20). How fitting, then, that it is from the heavenly places that Father supplies me with all my spiritual needs. All of what I possess from God that is real and lasting is located there. All else is but an illusive shadow.

If you then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sits on the right hand of God. Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth (Colossians 3:1-2).

I am who and what Father says I am.

I am blessed.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

