Posted by: SandreS | April 4, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 15

I Am … Triumphant

Now thanks to God, Who always causes us to triumph in Christ … (II Corinthians 2:14).

I am triumphant. This is who and what Father says I am.

Victory in Christ is Father’s gift to me. It already belongs to me; it is my possession.

… Thanks to God, Who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ (I Corinthians 15:57).

Father “gives us the victory.” It is already mine. This is why Paul says that I am more than a conqueror!

… We are more than conquerors through Him Who loved us (Romans 8:37).

Triumphant victory is the gift God has given to me. It is part of the core of who I am as His son. It is in no way tied to the condition of my circumstances – of what situations I may or may not face, of what lot I may have in life. These all are but the scenery of my life. They need not have any control over who I really am. Though the circumstances of life may at times appear bleak, I remember that they are just that –only circumstances. They are not my God; they in no way determine my true victory. With God I can face any situation, regardless of how difficult or trying it may appear to be.

I am mindful that Paul had such troublesome circumstances at times that it caused him to be “pressed out of measure, above strength, insomuch that we despaired even of life” (II Corinthians 1:8). Yet in spite of these situations, he knew that he was truly victorious, always triumphant in Christ.

“More than conquerors”? How am I more than a conqueror? Robert Murray M’Cheyne (1813-1843) offers a two-fold answer.

1. We conquer even before the battle is done. In all other battles we do not know how the victory is to turn out until the battle is won. In the battle of Waterloo, it was long thought that the French had gained; and Napoleon sent several dispatches to Paris, telling that he had won. But … we know how the victory is to turn out already. Christ has engaged to carry us through … The thicker the battle, the closer will He keep to us; so that we can sing already, “I thank God, through Jesus Christ our Lord.” We know that we shall overcome. Though the world were a million times more enraged – though the fires of persecution were again to be kindled – though my heart were a million times more wicked – though all the temptations were let loose upon me – I know I shall overcome through him that loved me. When Paul and Silas sang in the low dungeon, they were more than conquerors. When Paul sang, in spite of his thorn, “I will glory in my infirmities,” he was more than a conqueror.

2. We gain by our conflict. Often a victory is at a loss … In most victories, the song of triumph is mingled with the sobbings of the widow and orphan. Not so in the good fight of faith. We are more than conquerors. We gain by our enemies. (a) We cling closer to Christ. Every wave of trouble for Christ’s sake lifts the soul higher upon the Rock. Every arrow of bitterness shot after the believer makes him hide farther back in the clefts of Jesus. Be content, dear friend, to bear these troubles, which make you cling closer to your Beloved. (b) They shake us loose from sin. If ye were of the world, the world would love its own. If the world smiled and fawned upon you, you would lie on its lap. But when it frowns, then Jesus is our all. (c) Great is your reward in heaven. We gain a brighter crown. Be not afraid; nothing shall ever separate you from the love of Christ … If God be for you, who can be against you? If God has chosen you – called you – washed you – justified you – then He will glorify you. – (Who Shall Separate Us?)

I am victorious – triumphant – more than a conqueror.

This is who and what Father says I am.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

