Posted by: SandreS | April 1, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 12

I Am … His Workmanship

For we are His workmanship (Ephesians 2:10).

I am His workmanship.

Regardless of how things may appear at times in my life, I am His workmanship! This is who and what Father says I am. Or, as the Concordant Version renders this phrase,

For His achievement are we.

I am His achievement! How settling and reassuring this truth is to my heart. Father is busy achieving something in me, regardless of how I see things, or feel about them – He is at work in me!

Now unto Him Who is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us (Ephesians 3:20).

For it is God Who works in you both to will and to do of His good pleasure (Philippians 2:13).

From Whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplies, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, makes increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love (Ephesians 4:16).

William R. Newell well articulated the basis of the distresses of the Christian life when he wrote:

To “hope to be better” is to fail to see yourself in Christ only.

To be disappointed with yourself, is to have believed in yourself.

To be discouraged is unbelief – as to God’s purpose and plan of blessing for you.

I am not self-made; I am God-made – I am His workmanship, His achievement. The great, wise and almighty God of the universe is steadily at work in my life – and He doesn’t do just any kind of work: He does masterpieces.

He has been skillfully at work in my life from day one. He has been carrying out His purpose, even if I was not aware of it at all times; and as He always does, He is doing a good job, and accomplishing His purpose.

For it is God Who works in you … (Philippians 2:13).

… It is He Who made us, and not we ourselves; we are His … (Psalms 100:3).

Father began His good work in me, and He will complete it all the way to the end.

Being confident of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you, will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ (Philippians 1:6).

In the end God always looks at His handiwork and says, “It is good.”

Since my Father is at work in me – and I am His masterpiece – and He will perform His work all the way out to its full glorious completion – then will I receive praise from the Lord.

… And then shall every man have praise of God (I Corinthians 4:5).

This truth relieves me from needless fretting, anxiety, frustration and discouragement. After all, He is God. He is in charge. He is the Creator, and I am His creation.

I am who and what Father says I am.

I am His workmanship.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

