Posted by: SandreS | March 31, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 11

I Am … Called

Among whom are you also the called of Jesus Christ (Romans 1:6).

… Who are the called … (Romans 8:28).

This is who and what Father says I am.

I am called.

Those who trust God are “The Called” – they are God’s elect. This calling is an election to divine service.

Knowing, brothers beloved, your election of God (I Thessalonians 1:4).

Who shall lay anything to the charge of God’s elect? (Romans 8:33).

… That the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of Him Who calls (Romans 9:11).

God has not saved me, and called me with a holy calling simply to abandon all the rest of mankind to eternal torment. I am but a part of the first-fruits of Christ’s redemptive work. By His calling of grace I am one of His first-trusters. God’s ultimate plan includes all of His creation. None will be permanently lost.

God does not currently seek to reveal Himself, nor His plan to the masses. If it was His purpose, He would have accomplished it long ago. He has actually taken elaborate steps to assure that He and His plan are sufficiently hidden from the masses.

… You have hidden these things from the wise and prudent, and have revealed them to babes (Matthew 11:25).

But they understood not this saying, and it was hidden from them, that they perceived it not … (Luke 9:45).

Instead, God chooses who He wants to receive His revelation at this time.

… All men cannot receive this saying, except they to whom it is given (Matthew 19:11).

God’s plan upon the stage of human history initially is to reveal Himself to a few – the remnant, the called, the elect. This is why my salvation and calling is “according to His Own purpose and grace,” both of which were given to me “before the world began.”

Who saved us, and called us with a holy calling, not according to our performance, but according to His Own purpose and grace, which was given to us in Christ Jesus before the ages began (II Timothy 1:9).

God draws those He has chosen, whether in His past dealings with Israel, or His present dealings with the members of the Body of Christ.

Israel

… The Lord your God has chosen you to be a special people unto Himself, above all people who are upon the face of the earth. The Lord did not set His love upon you, nor choose you, because you were more in number than any people; for you were the fewest of all people (Deuteronomy 7:6-7).

O you seed of Israel His servant, you children of Jacob, His chosen ones (I Chronicles 16:13).

You have not chosen Me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you … I have chosen you out of the world (John 15:16, 19).

The Body of Christ

According as He has chosen us in Him before the foundation of the world, to be holy and blameless before Him in love (Ephesians 1:4).

… God has from the beginning chosen you to salvation through sanctification of the Spirit and belief of the truth (II Thessalonians 2:13).

God’s calling has always been to a few. The reason that God has only called a few during the course of human history is that He is calling out a small company of servants for His name.

The called are the stage-setters of all God’s future purposes. He has called a few whom He is preparing to rule with Him, serving the rest of creation. A survey through the Scripture’s use of the word “chosen” will reveal that God’s calling is clearly one to service:

… God has chosen him out … to stand to minister in the name of the Lord … (Deuteronomy 18:5).

… Them … God has chosen to minister unto Him … (Deuteronomy 21:5).

… Them has the Lord chosen … to minister unto Him … (I Chronicles 15:2).

… He has chosen Judah to be the ruler … (I Chronicles 28:4).

… He has chosen Solomon … to sit upon the throne of the kingdom of the Lord over Israel (I Chronicles 28:5).

… The Lord has chosen you to stand before Him, to serve Him, and that you should minister unto Him … (II Chronicles 29:11).

… My servant whom I have chosen: that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He (Isaiah 43:10).

Behold My servant, Whom I have chosen … (Matthew 12:18).

… I have chosen you, and ordained you, that you should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain … (John 15:16).

… He is a chosen vessel unto Me, to bear My name … (Acts 9:15).

Isaiah 43:10 is of particular significance to me as to my calling in relationship to God Himself.

… My servant whom I have chosen: that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He (Isaiah 43:10).

Father has chosen me to draw me into personal relationship with Himself. He has chosen me for the purpose of knowing Him, believing Him, and understanding Him. This is my calling.

Many are satisfied to learn about Him, the chosen are given the heart to actually know Him. Paul wrote,

That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being made conformable unto His death (Philippians 3:10).

Father is now tutoring me for service in the “heavenly places.” I am part of the Many-Membered Christ, the Firstborn. This calling provides me with a rich catalog of Scripture truth:

I am the Called of Jesus Christ

Among whom are you also the called of Jesus Christ (Romans 1:6).

I am Called into the Fellowship of Jesus Christ

… Called unto the fellowship of His Son Jesus Christ our Lord (I Corinthians 1:9).

I am Called into the Grace of Christ

… Called you into the grace of Christ … (Galatians 1:6).

I am Called to Peace

… God has called us to peace (I Corinthians 7:15).

I am Called unto Liberty

… You have been called unto liberty … (Galatians 5:13).

I am Called into God’s Kingdom

… Who has called you unto His kingdom … (I Thessalonians 2:12).

I am Called into God’s Glory

… Who has called you unto His … glory (I Thessalonians 2:12).

We are Called into Christ’s Glory

… He called you … to the obtaining of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ (II Thessalonians 2:14).

I am Called by Paul’s Gospel

… He called you by our gospel … (II Thessalonians 2:14).

My Calling is a Divine Vocation

… The vocation by which you are called (Ephesians 4:1).

Mine is a High Calling

… The high calling of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:14).

Mine is a Holy Calling

… Called us with a holy calling … (II Timothy 1:9).

My Calling was Predestinated

… Whom He did predestinate, them He also called … (Romans 8:30).

My Calling was Before the Foundation of the World

According as He has chosen us in Him before the foundation of the world … (Ephesians 1:4).

My Calling was from the Beginning

… God has from the beginning chosen you … (II Thessalonians 2:13).

Mine is a “Not Many” Calling

… Not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called (I Corinthians 1:26).

Mine is an Out-Calling

… The body, the church [i.e., the ecclesia – the called-out-ones] (Colossians 1:18)

My Calling is Established upon God’s Faithfulness

Faithful is He Who calls you, Who also will do it (I Thessalonians 5:24).

God is faithful, by Whom you were called … (I Corinthians 1:9).

Mine is a Permanent Calling

… The gifts and calling of God are without repentance (Romans 11:29).

Mine is an Unalterable Calling

And we know that all things work together for good to them who love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

My calling is one of the most amazing and glorious truths of my relationship with God. This catalog of the details of my calling is pregnant with divine richness.

I am who and what Father says I am.

I am called.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

