Posted by: SandreS | March 30, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 10

I Am … Complete

For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Deity bodily. And you are complete in Him, Who is the Head of all principality and power (Colossians 2:10).

This is who and what Father says I am.

I am complete.

Could there be any more beautiful words to my ears then “complete in Him”? What more could I ask for? What is it that I long for and desire that is not contained in this immensely rich little phrase – three simple words that are the very key to my life: “complete in Him.”

I am complete in Christ and need nothing else. I am filled with His fullness. It does not say that I ought to be complete in Him; it says I am complete in Him. Completion cannot be made any more complete. There are no ordinances, ceremonies, experiences or efforts that I need to be added to the Person and work of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Noah Webster defines the English word complete as “Having no deficiency; perfect.” He then cites: “And ye are complete in Him Who is the Head of all principality and power” (An American Dictionary of the English Language, 1828).

The Greek word used for complete is pleroo. It is defined by James Strong as “to make replete, i.e., (literally) to cram” (#4137). Thayer’s Lexicon gives these rich definitions:

To make full, to fill up, i.e., to fill to the full … to fill to the top: so that nothing shall be wanting [lacking] to full measure, fill to the brim … to carry through to the end, to accomplish, carry out.

In 1955 William B. Hallman wrote about this completeness in Christ:

The greatest discovery that any human being can make is the discovery of the all sufficiency of Christ … Christ is all, and in Him we have all …

“Complete in Him” – Nothing can go beyond completeness. You can add nothing to it. You might well try to purge a sunbeam, or purify the whiteness of the newly fallen snow as to add to what is already perfect. It is not only true that “all fullness dwells in Him,” but also that we are “complete in Him.” (Complete in Christ, reissued in the Bible Student’s Notebook #182, 2009).

What can be added to me that I do not already possess in Jesus Christ? Nothing! All that is left for me is maturity in Him.

The only difference between an oak seed and a mighty oak tree is time. The oak seed is as complete as the massive tree. The seed embodies in full the reproduction of the life from which it came. The seed is complete and can never be improved or enhanced. The only difference is growth.

I will simply appropriate what I have in Christ alone and, by faith, live accordingly. I will grow in the knowledge of Him as I progress in spiritual maturity – but all along the journey my completeness exists in perfection and fullness.

It is futile to attempt to add anything to my completeness in Him. I will rest in it.

I am “complete in Him.” I am who and what Father says I am.

I am complete.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

