Posted by: SandreS | March 27, 2010

I Am…Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 7

I Am … Beloved

But we are bound to give thanks always to God for you, brothers, beloved by the Lord, because God has from the beginning chosen you to salvation, through sanctification of the Spirit, and belief of the truth: To which He called you by our gospel, to the obtaining of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ (II Thessalonians 2:13-14).

My heart is humbled and thrilled every time I read this passage. These two verses are overflowing with meaning and wealth. In them Paul talks about who and what I really am, and he starts with this tremendous truth: I am “beloved by the Lord.

“Beloved” in this passage is the same Greek word (agapao) that Paul used in Ephesians 1:6, that I am “accepted in the Beloved.” My union in the Lord Jesus Christ not only means that I am “accepted” in Him, but that I too am now “beloved.

Noah Webster defines “beloved” as “greatly loved; dear to the heart” (American Dictionary of the English Language, 1828.)

The Greek word agapao is defined as,

decided preference to one person out of many – E.W. Bullinger, Critical Lexicon.

finding one’s joy in someone – Spiros Zodhiates, Complete Word Study Dictionary NT.

to have preference for … unwilling to abandon … or do without – Joseph H. Thayer, Greek-English Lexicon NT.

When Paul uses the word “beloved” (agapao) here in II Thessalonians 2:13, it was not a slip of the pen. The fact is that he uses this word in reference to the saints many times!

But in all these things we are more than conquerors, through Him Who loved us (Romans 8:37; c.f. Galatians 2:20; Ephesians 2:4; 5:2, 25; I Thessalonians 1:4; II Thessalonians 2:16).

To use Webster’s definition of beloved, I am greatly loved by God; I am dear to His heart. I will bask in this glorious revelation!

To use Zodhiates’ definition, God finds His joy in me. To use Thayer’s definition, Father is unwilling to do without me!

Father’s heart toward me is way beyond “love;” I am His “beloved.”

Now that’s grace! – and it is amazing!

This is who and what Father says I am.

I am beloved.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

