Posted by: SandreS | March 24, 2010

I Am … Who and What God Says I Am! – The Divine Reckoning of the Renewed Mind, Part 4

I Am … Adopted

I am adopted. This is who and what Father says I am.

To redeem them who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons (Galatians 4:5).

Through my union with the Lord Jesus Christ, I have been brought into His Sonship. Jesus Christ is the Son of God, “the firstborn among many brothers” (Romans 8:29). I am Christ’s brother, as well as a “son of God” (Philippians 2:15).

This is a wonderful reality that is often missed because of the more modern usage of the word “adoption” – that of taking someone from outside the family and making them a member. This is not the scriptural concept; instead, it is that of the placement of one already in the family, into a full-adult (sonship) position.

The word translated as “adoption” is the Greek word huiothesia. This is Strong’s Greek Lexicon #5206 meaning the “sonship,” or son-placing. It is defined as:

Sonship, literally son-placing, the station in life accorded a son – A.E. Knoch (1874-1965), Babe, Child, Sonship and Firstborn.

Adoption is the act of God whereby children of God redeemed by Christ are made adult sons, whose full manifestations as such awaits the resurrection. – C.I. Scofield, The Scofield Bible Correspondence Course (1907), Vol. III, page 412.

The Bible doctrine of “adoption” means that I am not just a child of God, wonderful enough as that truth is. I am much more than that: through my union with Christ, as a member of His Body: I’m a son of God. My standing before God is not that of a minor child; rather, I have the divine position of a full-grown son – an adult son of God.

The word “minor” is defined as “a state of infancy; one who has not attained the age of a major.” The word “minor” is in contrast with the word “major.” The word “major” is defined as “one who has attained his full age, and has acquired all his civil rights; one who is no longer a minor; an adult.” This is a legal concept known as “majority” – “The state or condition of a person who has arrived at full age. He is then said to be a major, in opposition to a minor, which is his condition during infancy.” – Bouvier’s Law Dictionary, 1856.

Speaking of this distinction, A.E. Knoch writes:

In the Scriptures, those who are too young to have a voice in affairs, who need a guardian, are minors … The Authorized Version renders this “babe,” “child” and “childish” … It is in contrast to the wise and intelligent … mature man (I Corinthians 13:10-11) … In Israel a male was mature physically when he arrived at the age of twenty (Leviticus 27:3, 5). Then he was drafted into the host, or army, and was liable to military service, being considered a mature member of the nation. (Babe, Child, Sonship and Firstborn.)

This Sonship position that I have is that of the Lord Jesus Christ Himself. I have been placed into union with His full adult sonship. This is the glorious principle known as “adoption.”

To redeem them who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons (Galatians 4:5).

For you have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but you have received the spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father (Romans 8:15).

Of course the world does not yet know who I am. My divine sonship has been completely hidden from them at this time; but one day I will be made manifest. In the resurrection God will reveal to all of creation who His sons are. This will be my glorious coronation day.

For the earnest expectation of the creature waits for the manifestation of the sons of God (Romans 8:19).

The word “manifestation” here is Strong’s Greek Lexicon #602, apokalupsis – defined as “disclosure” and translated elsewhere in the King James Version as, “appearing” and “revelation.” The Concordant Literal Translation uses the word “unveiling.” “The sons of God” are currently veiled. Until my manifestation with “the sons of God,” the rest of God’s creation doesn’t know who I am.

As I walk through life, the circumstances will not reflect my true identity. In fact, I am not exempt from all the apparent vanities of this dark-land. I’ll have my share of the dark-side: suffering, pain, discouragement, difficulties, weariness, pressure and the like; but I’m not defined by these details.

Although I’m beckoned to the contrary on every side, I have a higher life – the high-life from above, from the light-land – the light-side of divine life. I am called to walk in this radiant light as my Father’s full-grown, adult son.

I am who and what Father says I am.

I am adopted.

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2009

Leave a Reply

Categories

