Posted by: SandreS | September 18, 2009

The Church in Ruins (Brief Thoughts on II Timothy), Part 12

Be Strong in Grace

“Therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus (II Timothy 2:1).

Because of this condition of apostasy in the Body of Christ (“therefore” – 2:1), Paul admonished Timothy to “be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.” The answer to standing would be found in God’s grace. Grace is where Timothy needed to find his strength, to be strong, where he needed his focus and emphasis to be. Paul could tell this to Timothy, not as just a theory, but as a way – the way – of life. Paul had firsthand experience with the power of grace.

For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And He said unto me, “My grace is sufficient for you: for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong (II Corinthians 12:8-10).

Be strong in grace – this is the appeal; and this is the Pauline pattern. The strong part of our lives needs to be God’s grace; this is where we are to focus and excel.

Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound: That as sin hath reigned unto death, even so might grace reign through righteousness unto eternal life by Jesus Christ our Lord (Romans 5:20-21).

(to be continued)

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook
© 2001, 2009 Bible Student’s Press

Leave a Reply

Categories

