Posted by: SandreS | June 25, 2009

Are We Sinners or Saints?

But God commendeth His love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8).

Currently the world is made up of saints and ain’ts. One is either saved, or still lost; righteous, or still unrighteous; a son of God, or still just a son of man; a “saint,” or still a “sinner.”

Our Old Self – Our Former Identity

Although all believers sin, we no longer find our identity before God in sin. “Sinners” is what we use to be – what we were:

But God commendeth His love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

Before God, what we were by nature has passed away in the new creation.

And were by nature the children of wrath, even as others … (Ephesians 2:3).

Our New Self – Our New Identity

God has a new identity and designation for believers, we are now His saints. Many believers are not aware that their identification and designation before God has changed.

Listen to Paul’s revelation:

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature old things are passed away behold, all things are become new (II Corinthians 5:17).

Our former self (our old identity in Adam) has passed away. It died with Christ. Our new self (our new life and identity in Christ) is who we are now. We are alive in Christ.

Christ once-and-for-all dealt with our former self at Calvary. We have been liberated from our former identity. We are liberated to be our new selves – to “walk in newness of life” (Romans 6:4).

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me (Galatians 2:20).

Our former identity – our old “I” – was our identity as the sons of Adam. Our new identity – our new “I” – is our identity as the glorious sons of God.

I [a son of Adam] am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I [a son of God] live; yet not I [the “I” of the old creation], but Christ liveth in me [the “me” of the new creation]: and the life [the divine “life” of God] which I [the unique person that God has made me to be] now live in the flesh [my flesh, right now, this very day] I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me (Galatians 2:20).

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook

Leave a Reply

Categories

